Summer Vacation in South Korea – Necessities

Seoul Summer Vacation Must-Haves

I’m starting off Travel Thursdays with this blog post since one of my best friends will be studying abroad in Seoul this summer. (She’s going to be there for FIVE weeks–I’m so jealous!) After spending one week in Korea last summer, these are the items that I consider must-haves for your trip:

  1. Sunscreen
    This one should be obvious. For ultimate protection, sunscreen should always be used, regardless of season. Be sure to apply sunscreen liberally, and reapply every 2 hours. Summers in Korea can be extremely hot, and you’ll most likely get tanned from the sunny blue skies. Worried about liquids + TSA? Try a sunscreen stick, like this one from Neutrogena.
  2. Umbrella
    Summer is also typhoon season in Korea, so beware of rainy days. Have a compact umbrella handy to avoid getting soaked by sudden showers.
  3. Sneakers
    Taxis and public transportation are cheap, but you can still expect to walk a lot. Bring a pair of comfortable shoes to help you navigate the streets, slopes, and stairs of Seoul.
  4. Oil blotting sheets
    Keep a pack in your purse to help your skin fight the humidity. I like to use this Oil Control Film by The Face Shop.
  5. Water bottle
    Carry a water bottle with you to stay hydrated throughout the day.

While it’s good to be prepared, most of these items can easily be bought once you’ve arrived in Korea. There are convenience stores on just about every block, so make that your first stop for water and snacks–and popsicles!

Featured items

4 thoughts on “Summer Vacation in South Korea – Necessities”

  1. You should put pictures of the products too 🙂 I love your blog by the way, your posts are amazing. I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other! I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

    Like

    1. Hi Arielle,
      Thanks so much 🙂 You are so sweet! I definitely want to go back and put up pictures of the products (and more photos in general). The problem with writing most of my posts at night is that the lighting isn’t very good for photos 😦
      Anyway, I would love it if we could support each other ❤ I just followed you as well. Your blog is beautiful!

      Like

      1. Thank you, you are so sweet! Oh I see, maybe you could take the pictures the next day and post the blog post afterwards, that’s what I do sometime to be sure to have good lighting for my pictures 🙂

        Like

Talk to me!

