Skinfood Rice Mask Wash Off Review

Skin Food Rice Mask Wash Off

Skinfood’s Rice Mask Wash Off is currently ranked #1 on my list of favorite Skinfood items. I finally bought this product last week and am absolutely in love with it. In fact, I’m using it right now as I type this review!

Description & directions from Skinfood’s Official Website:

A wash-off mask containing rice extract that moisturizes skin and brightens tone. With its texture of ground rice, it leaves skin bright, soft and lustrous.

After washing, apply desired amount onto face, focusing on nose area while avoiding eye and mouth areas.
Wait 10 to 15 minutes, and then wash off with warm water.

Here’s the breakdown —

  • Packaging: Like Skinfood’s other wash-off masks, this product comes in a small, cute tub with screw cap. A spatula is not included.
  • Scent: The mask smells very fresh and clean, and just a little rice-y. The scent is really mild.
  • Texture: It is very much a soft scrub, containing crushed up rice particles (think the size of salt grains). The product is actually a light and airy paste, and therefore spreads easily and evenly.
  • Experience: I find that a little bit goes a long way. A small amount of paste is enough to create a thin layer over my face, but more product can always be applied for better coverage and exfoliation. The soft scrub texture is what really attracts me to this item. It is hardly abrasive, yet my skin always feels softer and smoother afterwards. I use this mask twice a week and have seen only positive results so far. For deeper cleaning, I use a tougher scrub once a week–more on that in the future!
  • Rating: 5/5 — try it out for yourself! 🙂

I am a huge fan of rice. Not only is it a staple in my diet, but rice water (or rice bran water) also has amazing benefits for hair and skin. It is packed with vitamins and minerals, and is known to be soothing, smoothing, and moisturizing. Basically, rice is awesome. The next time you’re cooking rice at home, grab a jar or bottle and make some rice water:

  1. Rinse rice once to remove any dirt and impurities
  2. Add water and soak rice for 10-15 minutes
  3. Collect the water

Seriously, it’s that easy. Once the rice water has been collected, it’s ready for use! Use it as a face or body wash, hair conditioner, or even as a pore-refining toner. The water can be stored and kept cool in the refrigerator, or left at room temperature for 1-2 days to allow it to ferment. Fermented rice water is said to have an even greater effect on your skin care regimen, but I have yet to try it myself. If you’ve used it, let me know what you think!

7 thoughts on “Skinfood Rice Mask Wash Off Review”

      1. I use three masks a week (they are my favorite part of skin care). I swear by the Aztec Clay mask. I otherwise vary between Queen Helen Mint Julep, Freeman masks and I recently began using Dermal sheet masks. The sheet masks came in a variety pack and I haven’t found one yet that isn’t awesome. I want to find a sleep pack I like. Do you use one?

        Like

        1. I’ve heard great things about the Aztec Clay Mask & Mint Julep! I will definitely have to give those a try some time.
          I use a couple of the scrub wash-off masks from Skin Food 2-3 times a week, including the Rice Mask and the Black Sugar Scrub. I’m also a huge fan of sheet masks, particularly the ones from The Face Shop! For sleep masks, I’ve only tried Julep’s Night Shift and really like it so far 🙂

          Like

Talk to me!

