Avocado Cilantro Lime Dressing Recipe

Salad with Avocado Cilantro Lime Dressing

I’ve discovered some pretty awesome things through the sample station at Trader Joe’s–turkey corn dogs, sriracha and roasted garlic BBQ sauce, and their vegetarian chili are just a few. Last week, I happened to stumble upon a salad with pearl couscous and cilantro lime dressing. It was absolutely delicious, but I usually try my best to avoid buying pre-packaged salads. Why purchase something that I can replicate at home at a lesser price?

I made my own version of that salad tonight (pictured above) using romaine lettuce, pearl couscous, leftover marinated tri-tip, sweet kernel corn, homegrown tomatoes, and homemade avocado cilantro lime dressing. Yum! It was my first time making the dressing and I’m really pleased with how it turned out, so I wanted to share the recipe with all of you.

Avocado Cilantro Lime Dressing
Makes 2-3 servings

  • 1/2 cup cilantro, finely chopped*
  • 2 tablespoons plain Greek yogurt**
  • 4 teaspoons fresh lime juice
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • half of a large avocado, mashed
  • a few dashes of black pepper
  • sea salt to taste
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (optional)
  • water (optional)

Combine all ingredients and mix until smooth. Adjust lime juice and seasonings to taste. For a thinner dressing, slowly add water while mixing until the desired consistency is reached.

* I like to include the stems and use a food processor to chop up the cilantro. For an even smoother dressing, especially if preparing manually, discard the stems first.
** Greek yogurt can be substituted with mayonnaise, sour cream, or avocado.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Avocado Cilantro Lime Dressing Recipe”

Talk to me!

