Lush mini haul + my newly redesigned health log

Featuring full reviews of Lush Mint Julips lip scrub and Each Peach (and Two’s a Pair) massage bar

Upcoming trips are always a good excuse to go shopping. Maybe you need to pick up some bug spray, more sunscreen, a beach cover-up, a new carry-on bag… You get the idea. With that logic in mind, I took a trip to my local Lush store and picked up a few products.

July 2015 Lush Haul

Shark Fin Soap

From the Lush website:

Did you know that every year up to 100 million sharks are needlessly killed for shark fin soup? Take a bite out of shark finning with our limited edition sea-inspired soap! Created for Discovery Channel’s Shark Week, its softening seaweed, scrubby fine sea salt and zesty lime oil make it a refreshing way to cool down this summer. 100% of the price of this soap will be donated to grassroots organizations dedicated to the protection and conservation of sharks. Now you can swim with the sharks and help protect them, too!

The sea salt and lime oil really stand out and make this soap smell fantastic. Plus, turquoise is my favorite color and the presentation is just so cute! Don’t be fooled though–that fin is just a piece of paper. Not yet convinced? This product is much cheaper than others at Lush (only $5.95 per bar) and 100% of the proceeds go towards charity.

Note: I have yet to try this product, so I can’t comment on the texture or experience.

Jumping Juniper Shampoo Bar

From the Lush website:

It cleans away grease and balances sebum production for soft, shiny (in the good way) hair. Fruity juniperberry oil sorts out your oily, congested scalp, while lemon and lime make your hair clean and shiny and give it an extra fresh scent. The incredible herbal duo, lavender and rosemary are superpowers if you’re having troubles in the oil department.

My method of buying shampoo bars: smell everything and pick whatever is most appealing. I’m planning to take this with me as a replacement for liquid shampoo, and I’ll follow-up with a detailed review in the coming weeks. Meanwhile, check out my latest travel tips for outsmarting the TSA 3-1-1 liquids rule.

Mint Julips Lip Scrub Review

Lush Mint Julips

Despite the amount of lip balm I own, I still constantly have chapped lips. I happened to spot this lip scrub as I was checking out, and spontaneously added it to my basket.

  • Packaging: The scrub comes in a tiny glass jar–nothing special, but the small size makes it very portable. I keep mine in my purse.
  • Scent: It actually really does smell (and taste) like mint chocolate chip ice cream!
  • Texture: This feels just like any other sugar scrub. It’s abrasive, but not so harsh that it’s irritating. The formula is non-greasy and does not leave a residue.
  • Experience: Besides homemade recipes, this is the first lip scrub I’ve tried. While I like the taste (yes, you can eat it) and texture, I don’t think this is the most effective lip scrub. It makes my lips soft and smooth immediately after use, but the moisture doesn’t last and I find myself needing to constantly reapply lip balm. In addition, the scrub itself is a little messy. I can’t seem to take any out of the jar without littering a few tiny clumps of sugar onto my desk. On the upside, a little bit goes a long way, so the price ($9.95) isn’t too bad.
  • Rating: 4/5. It’s good, but not a necessity. Right now, I’m still convinced that my homemade recipe is just as sufficient.

Each Peach (and Two’s a Pair) Massage Bar Review

Each Peach (and Two's a Pair) Massage Bar

From the Lush website:

We make our Each Peach massage bars with a new aeration technique, which means the bars are lighter and melt into the skin easier for even softer, luxurious massage. The fruity avocado and mango kernel butters are mixed with Fair Trade cocoa butter and shea butter for an extra nutritious, skin softening treat. Each Peach is super emollient and moisturizing for the skin; but it also gives a good glide when it is being worked over and massaged into the body.

When it comes to massage bars, I completely ignore the description and ingredients and buy whatever smells best. Why? Well, honestly, I think some of them smell absolutely terrible. Each Peach, however, smells wonderful and I highly recommend it.

  • Packaging: Like most Lush bars, this product comes “naked.” Keep it in a paper or plastic bag, or purchase a massage bar tin. I’ve been keeping mine in the paper bag from the store, and it’s been doing fine despite the hot weather.
  • Scent: The product has a fresh citrus scent, rather than a peachy scent.
  • Texture: The bar itself feels very smooth and buttery.
  • Experience: I like to use this product after showering, especially when I’m sore from working out. The massage bar melts upon body contact, but you still need to work it into your skin (after all, that’s the point). I have really dry skin on my legs, and I can really see and feel the hydration after using this product. Once applied, the massage bar feels very much like a regular, creamy body butter. Bonus: Your hands will feel luxuriously smooth, too.
  • Rating: 5/5–I absolutely love it.

My health log

In order to stay motivated and maintain a balanced routine, I do a lot of calendaring. This allows me to schedule my workouts and spa days so that I can stay on top of my fitness and skin care regimen. The little journal featured above is my personal health log. I like to keep track of what vitamins I’ve taken, what kind of physical activity I’ve performed, and what skin care products I’ve used.

What’s the benefit of this? Personally, if something is on my calendar, then I feel compelled to attend the “event” or complete the assignment. I’ve tried different formats for keeping track of all of my activities and finally settled on a checklist. The log is set up as a chart (days x activities) that allows me to easily mark off what I’ve done each day. The goal is to check off one box from each category per day: supplements, exercise, and skin care*. The chart format also enables me to quickly view and analyze my performance, which in turn lets me effectively balance out my activities.

I thought I’d share this idea, in case you’re searching for an incentive or planning to start your own health log. If you have any questions or suggestions, leave a comment or shoot me an email.

Have a happy and healthy week!

*The skin care component includes exfoliating masks (1-3 times/week), sheet masks (2-3 times/week), and nose strips (0-1 times/week).

6 thoughts on “Lush mini haul + my newly redesigned health log”

Talk to me!

