Around the Kitchen: Chia Seed Pudding

I had a very busy week at work, so this weekend’s kitchen adventures were focused on ease and simplicity. I ate a lot of avocado toast, made these fish tacos for the first time (so good!), and shamelessly binged on dino nuggets. I also wandered into the world of chia pudding, which is the focus of this week’s Food Fridays post.

I recently discovered chia pudding and finally decided to give it a try this weekend. For an effortless chia pudding, I added:

  • 2 teaspoons chia seeds
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Chia seed pudding is incredibly easy to make–just combine the ingredients and mix well, then refrigerate overnight. A lot of recipes that I’ve seen recommend a minimum chill time of 3 hours, but letting the mixture sit overnight will produce a much better bind and pudding-like consistency. This also depends on the chia seed:milk ratio, with a higher amount of chia seeds requiring a shorter incubation time.

At the 4 hour mark, my chia seeds were fully inflated and clumped together at the bottom of the bowl, so I gave the mixture a good stir in order to resuspend the seeds and break up the clumps. I highly recommend stirring your pudding after the seeds have started to plump up. This will allow it to set at a nice consistency.

The final product reminded me of basil seeds–chewy and gooey. The pudding was quite plain and relatively flavorless, despite the vanilla extract, but it worked great with fresh fruit. For an added twist, I added some matcha and fresh diced peaches. It turned out really nice and I highly recommend this combo 🙂

Matcha Chia Seed Pudding

Chia has gained a lot of popularity as a superfood. It has many benefits, including “two times more protein than most grains and five times more calcium than milk. Plus, it has of high levels of omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids, soluble fiber, potassium and antioxidants.” However, beware of eating dry chia seeds, which can be a safety threat.

Looking for more chia pudding inspiration? Check out these 9 Protein-Packed Chia Seed Pudding Recipes from Greatist.

Talk to me!

