Skinfood Honey Black Tea Cleansing Oil Review

The first step of my nightly skin care routine is the double cleanse. The double cleanse method, as its name suggests, involves two steps: cleansing with an oil-based cleanser followed by a foam or cream cleanser.

For the past few months, I’ve been working my way through this bottle of Skinfood Honey Black Tea Cleansing Oil. This product is part of Skinfood’s Honey Black Tea line, a series of cleansers intended for use on dry skin. You can find details on the full line here.

Skinfood Honey Black Tea Oil Cleanser

Description & directions from the Skinfood website —

This non-sticky, soft cleansing oil contains honey and tea extracts to provide deep moisturization and excellent exfoliation, leaving skin lustrous and refreshed.

Apply desired amount onto face, massage, and rinse with warm water.

Review —

  • Packaging: The cleanser comes in a squeezable plastic bottle with screw cap. There is no pump, so product is dispensed by pouring the oil into your hands.
  • Scent: This product has a very strong honey scent, with a hint of floral. The smell is actually quite overwhelming for me, but it washes off with my foam cleanser.
  • Texture: The oil is smooth and thick.
  • Experience: The Honey Black Tea Cleansing Oil works well, but it’s definitely not the best cleansing oil on the market. (My personal favorite remains The Face Shop Rice Water Bright Cleansing Light Oil.) My biggest issue with this product is the lack of a pump, which leads to very messy dispensing. Even when I’m being careful, I tend to end up with oil running down the sides of the bottle.
    Before showering, I apply this product to dry skin and massage it into my face in circular motions. I usually leave the oil on for 2 minutes before washing it off with warm water and continuing with my foam cleanser. The oil does a good job of removing makeup and dirt, but it does require a little bit of extra effort over eye makeup. I highly recommend following this oil cleanser with a foam or cream cleanser, otherwise you will feel a light layer of oily residue on your skin.
    The amount that I use depends on how much makeup I’m wearing, but one bottle will surely last you at least a few months (once a day, daily).
  • Rating: 3/5. Although this cleanser does its job, it doesn’t meet all of my expectations. The absence of a pump and strong smell are huge cons, and it simply doesn’t perform as well as other cleansers I have tried. I should also note that this product contains parabens.

2 thoughts on “Skinfood Honey Black Tea Cleansing Oil Review”

    1. I’ve heard good things about the Julep Cleansing Oil! I actually just ordered a bottle in my November Maven box and am quite excited to try it.
      My favorite cleansing oil is The Face Shop Rice Water Bright Cleansing Light Oil (http://international.thefaceshop.com/english/product/productView.jsp?prdidx=793). It does a great job of removing makeup and other impurities. I highly recommend it! I’ll have to do a review on it very soon 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

