New Year’s Resolutions

New Year's Resolutions 2016
photo source

The first time I really remember making New Year’s resolutions is when I was a freshman in college. I typed up a long list, printed it out, and posted it on the wall above my bed. Some time later, my roommate and I had random visitors, and one of them wandered over to my bed and started reading my list of resolutions–something I did not appreciate, as I had some very specific and personal goals that year. Later that day, I took down the list and decided that I would never display my resolutions again.

Well, never say never, right? I initially wasn’t going to share my 2016 resolutions here, but I thought it would be good both for me and the blog. Although studies have indicated that it’s better to keep your goals to yourself, my success rate is actually higher whenever other people are aware of them. Sharing my goals motivates me to get a positive result on the off-chance that someone will ask me about them later.

So, here are my 2016 resolutions:

  1. Save more money
    I usually make a monthly budget, then completely ignore it. I think the key to this one is to stay away from Sephora.
  2. Be able to do a pistol squat
    I don’t have high hopes, but pistol squats are part of some Victoria’s Secret model workouts.
  3. Read more books
    I bought so many books in 2015, but I barely read any of them.
  4. Do more fitness classes
    Actually, 2015 was probably my most active year to date. Between spring and fall, I did a pretty good job of exercising regularly. I started practicing yoga at a studio, and I later joined a rock climbing gym. I’m hoping to get into that routine again and to make it last year-round. I also really want to try barre classes.
  5. Drink more water
    Although this is a very simple resolution, it’s actually my main one for the new year.

I usually think of way too many specific and overly ambitious resolutions and write them all down–I guess this makes sense because I love lists–but I was able to simplify things this year. There are several smaller goals that I have in mind, of course, but those mostly supplement the ones listed above.

Did you make goals for the new year? Feel free to share them in the comments below! And if you need some ideas, here’s a cool article that I found: 50 New Year’s Resolution Ideas and How to Achieve Each of Them.

14 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions”

Talk to me!

